Love Will Be Right Here

I am in love with music. That’s an understatement. Music runs through my veins, pumps oxygen to my lungs, and gives my heart a reason to beat. Ok, so I exaggerate, but you get the idea. Over the years, music has been a close friend, growing and changing with me.

When I was 11 years old, I loved music that I could sing along with. I didn’t care much yet for instrumentation. If it had a great vocal and poetic undertones, then I liked it. I loved harmonies over a hip hop beat. While my peers listened to Garth Brooks and Madonna, I was falling in love to Janet Jackson’s Rhythm Nation. I must have played the library’s copy at least a hundred times. None of the girls in my small white, Mormon community listened to the music I loved. Don’t get me wrong. I listened to top 40 radio and knew the words to the country songs. It just didn’t connect the way Cooleyhighharmony by Boyz II Men did (which was the first cd I bought with my “own” money). I was a product of the New Jack Swing generation. I was a white girl with soul.

I blame this on my mother’s influence. In her day, she loved Motown music. The Supremes, The Miracles and The Temptations were staples in our family’s soundtrack. “Just My Imagination” was my mother and father’s song. For the taste of the 70s, my parents would play The Stylistics and The Isley Brothers. So it was only natural for me to make the transition into En Vogue, Zhane, and P.M. Dawn.

One of my favorite songs from this time period was “Right Here” by SWV. It sampled Michael Jackson’s “Human Nature”. It was cool and smooth with a killer hook. It was the jam. It was my jam. To this day, I still know every word. It makes me remember a time when it was just me and the music. I felt hopeful and romantic and strong. And if I listen long enough, I feel that way all over again.

“Have no fear because love is going to be right here!”- SWV

Thanks to http://www.mamakatslosinit.com for the writing prompt this week.

Leave a Reply

