Passion by Practice

I am declaring November my discipline month. My goals this month direct me to improving my discipline in my spoken word and poetry life. I will be not posting every goal or every minor success, but I will be posting more.

Last night, I challenged myself to a poetry prompt from Poets and Writers Magazine.

Write a remake of a poem written between the 1960s and 1980s. Select two major elements to retain from the original poem such as setting, narrative voice, overarching formal structure, or emotional progression, and then give it a fresh, new spin by altering other aspects of the poem.

I chose the poem “I Wrote A Good Omelet” by Nikki Giovanni. You can read the original here.

Here is my rough version of that:

“After You”

When you left…

I cried what little blood I had…

Cut tears from my wrists…

Pulled cars over my head…

Contemplated driving my blanket into a ditch…

Cursed poems out to the sky aloud…

Read God to ease my suffering…

Dusted off my heart of the memories you forgot…

Told my shoulders that they would love again…

Chose to win this game of vows …

Laughing at every heartache you made…

You do not get the pleasure of my victory …

My death will not be your resurrection…

You will move me…

I will regret and start over again…

Wake in the red…

Make eggs and salsa on morning plates…

Drink strong coffee with salty tears…

Praise God for another day tinged with milk…

And eat these scrambled words…  

After loving and losing you.

 

Leave a Reply

