Sogobi- a poem for my home

SOGOBI

preface: sogobi is the Shoshone word for dirt. Paiutes and Shoshones were the first nation tribes of my home state of Nevada. I wanted to honor where I came from but acknowledging that it was there before I was even thought of.

I have grown from

Dry dirt

Crimson clay

Cactus choked

From the dust of ancestors

Renegades & 1st nations

Ranchers & refugees

 

The drought of wet

Produced well springs of determination to create something of my own

At times at the expense of others

 

I will make my own

Drown doubt

With floods of winds

 

This climate killed many before me

But today it cools me

 

My blood xerophilic

I adapt and change and move

 

Chameleon- my heart

Desert- my song

Ocean- my daydream

 

Past & future in perfect collision

 

Like thunder and lightning

They are ordered but one

 

I am

It is

 

And one day all will end

Ezekiel with bone returning to ground

Rising sun burnt sage

 

Blessing beginning

Of next life

 

 

Leave a Reply

